Copying a security group

You can copy a group that Ricoh ProcessDirector provides or one that you created and use it as a template for creating another group.

When you plan a security group, be aware that:

  • Some actions require authorization to do other actions or edit certain properties:
    To do this action To this object type A group must be able to do this action to that object type And edit these properties of that object type
    Add Any Edit Properties All required properties
    Copy Any Edit Properties All required properties
    Edit Properties Any View Properties  
    Make jobs match printer Job Edit Properties Scheduling properties
    Print Again Job Edit Properties Input data stream, Workflow, Restart steps, Stop when entering phase
    Process Again Job Edit Properties Job copies, Requested printer
    Schedule Job Edit Properties Scheduling properties
  • If you prohibit a group from adding objects, you might also want to prohibit that group from importing objects.

To copy a security group:

  1. Click the Administration tab.
  2. In the left pane, click Security Groups.
  3. Right-click the group that you want to copy and select Copy.
    When you copy a group provided by Ricoh ProcessDirector, you can add and delete permissions for the new group. Start with group that has approximately the same permissions that the new group requires, so you do not have to make many changes.
  4. Fill in the Group name and Group description properties.
  5. Edit the actions that the group can do to objects:
    1. In the Object types list, select an object type.
    2. To prohibit an action, clear the check box for the action.
    3. To allow an action, select the check box for the action.
  6. Edit the object properties that the group can view and edit:
    1. In the Object types list, select an object type.
    2. To restrict the group from viewing a property, clear the property check box in the View column.
    3. To let the group view a property, select the property check box in the View column.
    4. To restrict the group from editing a viewable property, clear the property check box in the Edit column.
    5. To let the group edit a property, select the property check box in the Edit column.
  7. Change the Default Main page view value to the saved view you want the users in the group to use.
  8. Click OK.
    Note:
  • You can export entries in the Groups table to a Comma-Separated Values (CSV) file. Click the Gear menu button in the top right corner of the page and select Export table to CSV. The exported list only contains entries for groups that match all the filters that are set. For example, you type Operator in the filter field Funnel icon. The list in the CSV file contains only the entries for groups with Operator in the group name, description, or source ID. The entries are sorted by group name.