Backing up data

You can use a backup script to archive a copy of your Ricoh ProcessDirector system configuration.
To back up Ricoh ProcessDirector data:
  1. Stop all application and secondary servers. The backup procedure stops the primary server automatically. See Stopping the base product and secondary servers on AIX, Stopping an application server, and Stopping secondary servers on Linux.
  2. Log in to the primary computer as the root user.
  3. Enter /opt/infoprint/ippd/bin/aiwbackup.pl with any of these options:
    Option Description
    -f filename Back up data to a directory and file name other than the default, which is /tmp/aiw_backup_data.[timestamp].tar.gz.
    -m Do not make a backup image of the DB2 database. Use this option if the DB2 database is on a different computer.
    -r Input files and job files (the files in the spool directory that contain job information, including copies of input files) are saved by default. A backup with the -r option does not save input files or job files, but it does save jobs. System data and control files are always saved.
      Important:
    • The -r option is slightly different on the aiwbackup and aiwrestore commands:
      • On aiwbackup, the -r option removes only input files and job files from the saved system. It does not delete the jobs from the system.
      • On aiwrestore, the -r option removes jobs, input files, and job files from the restored system.
      If you use the -r option when you back up Ricoh ProcessDirector, you should also use it when you restore the system to avoid restoring jobs whose files have not been saved.
    -h or -? Display help for the aiwbackup command.
    For example, this command saves data, including jobs, but not including input files or job files, to a file called mybackup.tar.gz:
    • /opt/infoprint/ippd/bin/aiwbackup.pl -f mybackup.tar.gz -r
    You see a message that all servers will be stopped, whether jobs and input files will be backed up, and the location of the backed up files.
  4. Enter Y to proceed with the backup.
    When the backup is complete, you see a message that the backup was successful.