Managing views

You can rearrange the portlets on the Main page of the user interface so the layout is more useful for your tasks or your environment. When you create a layout that you like, you can save it as a customized view. Then, you can change the Main page to use any customized views that you have saved or return to a default view.

A customized view contains what portlets are open, their size, location on the Main page, the order and size of columns in the tables in the portlets, applied filters, and whether the favorite filter is applied. Which objects are favorites are not saved in the view.

By default, all saved views are private, so only the person who created them can use them. However, you can choose to make the view public. Public views can be used by anyone who logs in to Ricoh ProcessDirector.

If you ever have to move to a new primary computer, you can export the customized views from the current system and import them to a new system. If a view is no longer needed, you can delete it.
  • To save a customized view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then click Save the current view ().
    2. In the Save view dialog, type a name for the view.
    3. Select Public if the view should be shared with other users.
    4. Click OK.
  • To change to a different view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then choose a view from the Saved Views list.
      If you make changes to your layout and want to return to your default view, click Apply my default view.
      After you select a view from the Saved Views list, a dot appears next to the current view. If you make changes to the view, the dot changes to a circle.
  • To update a view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then choose the view you want to update from the Saved Views list.
    2. Update the layout of the Main page.
    3. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears.
      You see a circle next to the current view.
    4. Click Save the current view (), enter the name of the saved view you want to update, and specify whether the view is Public or Private.
    5. Click OK to save the updated view.
    6. In the confirmation window, click OK again.
  • To delete a saved view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then hover over the view you want to delete in the Saved Views list.
    2. Click the X that appears to the right of the view name to make it red. Click the red X to delete the view.
  • To export a saved view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then select Settings () Export current view.
    2. Enter a name for the view.
    3. Specify whether the view is Public or Private.
    4. Click OK.
      The file is downloaded. If your browser is configured to let you choose where to save files, you can choose where to store the file and give it a different name.
  • To import a saved view:
    1. Hover over the Main tab until the menu appears, then select Settings () Import saved view.
    2. Specify the full path and file name of the saved view to import.
    3. Click OK.
  • To set a default view for all users in a group:
    1. Click the Administration tab.
    2. In the left pane, click SecurityGroups.
    3. Click the name of the group you want to change the default view for.
    4. Change the Default Main page view value to the saved view you want the users in the group to use.
    5. Click OK.
      Note:
    • You can only export and import one saved view at a time on the Main page. Use the Export and Import functions on the Administration page if you need to move multiple saved views.