You can use a Ricoh ProcessDirector restore script to return your system to the configuration that you stored in a backup archive.
- All existing jobs and input files from the current Ricoh ProcessDirector level are removed when you restore to a previous level.
- You can only restore the backup to a system that has the same host name and the same Ricoh ProcessDirector features installed as the system on which you performed the backup.
- If you used a new level of Ricoh ProcessDirector and then restored to a previous level, or if you installed and used the previous level before you restored the backup files, any changes you made to system data, control files, or user data is lost. Therefore, if you need to restore your backup files, do it as soon as possible to reduce the amount of lost data.
To restore Ricoh ProcessDirector data:
- Stop the Ricoh ProcessDirector service on all computers.
- Install the same level of Ricoh ProcessDirector as the backup you previously created.
- On the primary computer, log in as an authorized user.
- Start a command prompt as an administrator. Even if you are logged on to your system as an administrator, you must start the command prompt by selecting Run as administrator from the right-click menu.
C:\Program Files\Ricoh\ProcessDirector\ bin \ aiwrestore.bat
For example, this command restores data, not including jobs, input files, or job files: C:\Program Files\Ricoh\ProcessDirector\bin\aiwrestore.bat -rYou see a message that all servers will be stopped and the location the files are restored from.
- Do not restore the DB2 database.
- Jobs, input files, and job files (the files in the spool directory that contain job information,
including copies of input files) are restored by default. A backup with the -r option does not restore jobs, input files, or job files. System data and control
files are always restored.
Important: The -r option is slightly different on the aiwbackup and aiwrestore commands:
- On aiwbackup, the -r option removes only input files and job files from the saved system. It does not delete the jobs from the system.
- On aiwrestore, the -r option removes jobs, input files, and job files from the restored system.
- Enter Y to proceed with the restore. The restore runs in the background and might take several minutes to complete, depending on the number and size of files to be restored. No status updates appear in the command prompt window, but the script is running. When it completes, a message that the restore was successful appears at the end of the aiwrestore log file in
- Start the Ricoh ProcessDirector service to use the restored level of Ricoh ProcessDirector .